Live again!

A lot of people have been waiting for live concerts and finally it will happen. On 21 & 22 May, I will be playing in my beautiful home town of Graz in the green heart of Austria. The styriarte presents its first live concerts after the worldwide pandemic and opens the doors of the “Stefaniensaal” of the Congress Graz. I’m looking forward to performing live again.

World premiere at „HD Frühling“

As part of the internationally renowned music festival “Heidelberger Frühling”, a live video production in a class of its own was created. Together with cellist Julia Hagen, the two violinists Cosima Soulez-Larivière and Maria Wehrmeyer and clarinettist Han Kim, classical works by Brahms, Schumann and Debussy as well as the world premiere by contemporary Korean composer Donghoon Shin called “My Shadow” are on the program. Under the direction of pianist Markus Becker, a great concert evening was created, which can be experienced live HERE on April 16, 2021 at 8pm and will be available for watching on-demand.

Concerts in 2021

For known reasons there are no concerts yet. However, the time is not quiet, but many good projects are happening. Soon more may be revealed about this.

There are plenty of concert dates for 2021, but I would like to wait with the publication, because at the moment many things are changing in a short time. However, we can make a note of the Heidelberger Frühling in Germany (with Igor Levit, Markus Becker and others), the concerts with recreation in the Graz Congress and the finale of the “Premio Antonio Mormone” in the magnificent Italian city of Milan.

In the meantime, I look forward to you listening to the album “Concert apéritif du Piano“. Let’s stick together and look forward to beautiful musical moments in the near future!

Happy New Year 2021!

© Honens. Monique de St. Croix 2018

Even when the skies for music in public seem to be dark, let us arrive together with fresh power, vigour and joy for music in the new year 2021! I am very much looking forward to all things which 2021 will bring and I am awaiting something huge – the bar isn’t set high after all.

I wish all of you a Happy and – most of all – a Healthy New Year 2021!

Double album “Concert apéritif du Piano”

“The Beautiful” is possible through Tours fabuleux! – Anke Mattern stands behind the name and presents the new double album “Concert apéritif du Piano”, which was recorded on a Bösendorfer grand piano 280VC. Inspired by an exclusive “Hydrangea” garden tour in the Normandy this summer 2020, this unique Solo Recital comes on two CDs. As a result of the cooperation with Mrs. Mattern, who acted as a whole production team in one person – conception, delicious catering, realization, etc. -, the recording transports the beauty of the music and reflects the joy of all people involved. Thank you very much, Anke Mattern!

The album is available online here.

Jury member “Music & Stars Awards”

For the first time I am proud to join the jury of the international music competition “Music & Stars Awards”. Competitions are part of every young emerging musician. From my experience, beside all hard work an important part of standing out in competitions is luck. Even winning international prizes do not guarantee a career. Therefore, it is more important than ever, to find the personal benefits and integrate it into the artistic work. The wonderful example with this very competition ist e.g. the prize for a CD recording. I wish every participant lots of success!

Application deadline: 19 November 2020

© Christa Strobl

Friedrich Hölderlin & “Lied” (German for “Song”)

During this summer we not only had many beautiful first performances with live audiences, but also mezzo-soprano Magdalena Hinz and me had an equally marvellous project with “Lieder” (songs). Together we formed a repertoire including masterworks by Hugo Wolf, Franz Schubert and the like. Furthermore, we premiered the musical version of Friedrich Hölderlin’s poem “Die Kürze” (The Brevity) by German composer Stefan Heucke (*1959), which can be watched at the end of the video.

Aside from the Corona- and Beethoven-year 2020, we also celebrate German poet Friedrich Hölderlin’s 250th anniversary – same as master Beethoven.

“Destiny” Symphony

Beethoven’s “Destiny Symphony”. Corona locked the doors of our world’s concert halls. But when the destiny “knocks” on the door with probably the most popular theme in music history, new possibilities are awaiting us.

The Beethoven anniversary goes on and the composer’s works should not be missing on any concert program. Although travelling further distances is not possible due to Corona, there are some concerts happening in attendance of an audience. E.g. in:

2 September – Schloss Langenburg (DE)
11 September – Mortantsch, Mehrzweckhalle (AT)

25 October – Bonn, Bad-Godesberg (DE)

4 December – Weiz (AT)

Ein Sommer voller Konzerte

© Igor Fedoriv

Nach dem letzten Lockdown ging es plötzlich los – was für eine Freude war es, wieder vor Live-Publikum auftreten zu dürfen! Bevor der Sommer nun langsam zu Ende geht, der gefüllt war mit Reisen nach Frankreich, Italien, Slowenien, Deutschland, Österreich und in die Ukraine, folgen nun noch die letzten Festivals u.a. in Norwegen und das ar|:s:|onore Festival in Graz.

Jetzt wieder live!

Darauf haben sehr viele gewartet und endlich geht es wieder los. Am 21. & 22. Mai soll es auch für mich wieder losgehen. In meiner wunderschönen Heimatstadt Graz im grünen Herzen Österreichs gibt es gleich viermal die Chance ein Live-Konzert zu erleben. Die styriarte macht es möglich und öffnet die Türen im Stefaniensaal des Grazer Congress‘. Ich freue mich auf ein Eröffnungsfest der Musik – und das als Heimspiel!

Premiere beim HD Frühling

Im Rahmen des internationalen renommierten Musikfestivals „Heidelberger Frühling“ entstand eine Live-Videoproduktion der Extraklasse. Gemeinsam mit Cellistin Julia Hagen, den beiden Geigerinnen Cosima Soulez-Larivière und Maria Wehrmeyer sowie mit dem Klarinettisten Han Kim gibt es neben klassischen Werken von Brahms, Schumann und Debussy auch die Welt-Uraufführung vom zeitgenössischen koreanischen Komponisten Donghoon Shin namens „My Shadow“. Unter der Leitung vom Pianisten Markus Becker entstand ein toller Konzertabend, der am 16. April 2021 um 20:00 HIER live erlebt werden kann und zum Nachhören verfügbar ist.

Termine 2021

Aus bekannten Gründen finden noch keine Konzerte statt. Jedoch ist die Zeit nicht still, sondern es passieren viele gute Projekte. Bald darf hierzu mehr verraten werden.

Konzerttermine für 2021 gibt es zwar reichlich, jedoch möchte ich mit der Veröffentlichung warten, da sich derzeit noch vieles in kurzer Zeit ändert. Zum Vormerken gibt es allerdings den Heidelberger Frühling in Deutschland (u.a. mit Igor Levit, Markus Becker und Co.), die Konzerte mit recreation im Grazer Congress sowie das Finale des „Premio Antonio Mormone“ in der prachtvollen italienischen Stadt Mailand.

In der Zwischenzeit freue ich mich, wenn Sie in das Album „Concert apéritif du Piano“ reinhören. Halten wir zusammen und freuen wir uns auf schöne musikalische Momente in naher Zukunft!

Frohes neues Jahr 2021!

© Honens. Monique de St. Croix 2018

Auch wenn die Zeiten für Musik im öffentlichen Raum ausbleiben, lassen Sie uns gemeinsam mit frischer Kraft, Elan und Freude an der Musik ins neue Jahr 2021 starten! Ich freue mich auf all das, was 2021 bringen wird und erwarte Großes – schließlich liegt die Messlatte nicht besonders hoch.

Ich wünsche allen ein frohes neues Jahr 2021 mit viel Glück und vor allem viel Gesundheit!

Doppel-CD „Concert apéritif du Piano“

„Das Schöne“ ist ermöglicht durch Tours fabuleux! – „Gartenreisen Erleben und Genießen“. Anke Mattern, Gartendesignerin aus Steyerberg in Norddeutschland, steht hinter diesem Namen und präsentiert das neue Doppel-Album „Concert apéritif du Piano“ eingespielt auf einem Bösendorfer Konzertflügel 280VC. Inspiriert von der exklusiven „Reise zur Hortensienblüte“ von Tours fabuleux! in die Normandie im Sommer 2020 wurde dieses einzigartige Solo Recital auf zwei CDs aufgenommen. Dank der inspirierenden Kooperation mit Frau Mattern, die allein als ganzes Produktionsteam gewirkt hat – von Konzeption, köstlichem Catering bis hin zur Umsetzung -, transportiert die Aufnahme das so Wunderschöne der Musik und spiegelt die Freude aller Beteiligten während des Entstehens wider. Herzlichen Dank, Frau Mattern!

Hier ist das Album online erhältlich.

Jury Mitglied „Music & Stars Awards“

Zum ersten Mal darf ich als Jury Mitglied des internationalen Wettbewerbs „Music & Stars Awards“ agieren. Musikwettbewerbe gehören zum Leben eines jeden aufstrebenden, jungen Musikers dazu. Aus meiner Erfahrung gehört neben enormen Fleiß auch eine große Portion Glück dazu, sich gegen die Konkurrenz durchzusetzen. Auch der Gewinn eines Wettbewerbs ist heute keine Garantie mehr für eine Karriere und somit liegt es in den Händen des Künstlers, dies für sich zu nutzen und in sein künstlerisches Werk zu integrieren. Schön ist an diesem Beispiel u.a. der Gewinn einer CD-Produktion. Allen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern wünsche ich viel Erfolg!

Anmeldefrist: 19. November 2020

© Christa Strobl

Friedrich Hölderlin und das „Lied“

Während der Sommermonate gab es neben vielen schönen ersten Auftritten mit Publikum auch ein ebenso schönes Projekt mit „Liedern“. Gemeinsam mit Mezzosopranistin Magdalena Hinz entstand ein Programm bestehend aus Meisterwerken von Hugo Wolf, Franz Schubert und Co. Ebenso am Programm gab es eine Uraufführung einer Vertonung von Friedrich Hölderlins Gedicht „Die Kürze“ vom deutschen Komponisten Stefan Heucke (*1959), welches im folgenden Video am Schluss zu hören ist.

Ehre gebührt auch dem Dichter Friedrich Hölderlin abseits des Corona- und Beethoven-Jahres 2020, der – gleichsam wie der Meister Beethoven – seinen 250. Geburtstag feiern würde.